World Heritage Sites of Nepal

There are four UNESCO World Heritage Sites (WHS) in Nepal. Of these four WHS, two are in the cultural category and two WHS fall in the natural category.

In the cultural category, the seven monuments of the Kathmandu valley (together counted as one WHS) and Lumbini – the birth place of Lord Buddha are included whereas the other two WHS in the natural grouping are the Chitwan National Park and Sagarmatha National Park. The Kathmandu valley WHS comprises of three historical places of Kathmandu Durbar Square, Patan Durbar Square and Bhaktapur Durbar Square, two Buddhist Stupas- Swayambhu and Boudanath, and two Hindu Temples; Pashupati Nath and Changu Narayan. The densest concentration of these heritage sites can be found here owing to the cultural and political importance of the Kathmandu valley. All these monuments were designated as UNESCO world heritage sites in October 1979. Most of the places listed in the WHS were revered for thousands of years and there has been a series of contributions and renovations in the form of construction of temples, stupas and palaces over the centuries by different rulers and kings. The WHS of Nepal are an expression of the finest sensibility of the history and lifestyle of Nepal and are a legacy of the Nepalese people to human civilization.

List of World Heritage Sites.

  • Kathmandu Durbar Square
  • Patan Durbar Square
  • Bhaktapur Durbar Square
  • Pashupatinath
  • Swayambhunath
  • Boudanath
  • Changu Narayan
  • Lumbini – the birth place of Lord Buddha
  • Chitwan National Park
  • Sagarmatha National Park